There’s nothing like a crisis.

The ‘banking crisis’ was long overdue,

There was endless rhetoric, but our governments knew.

We’d borrowed too much,

The Euro was injured, and we were the crutch.

 

I was an architect designing life

But times were hard and redundancies rife.

I’d found beauty in building communities,

The future design of life in big cities.

 

I found myself looking for work

Trawling through the unempoyment murk.

The tyre factory took me in

Noise and hell-fire to make your head spin.

 

I’d drift off in to a world of my own

Away from machines back under my stone.

But blinding pain soon awoke me

My arm and creativity torn from me……

(Inpired by the great works of Brian Miller and Natasha Head)

(C) 2012 all rights reserved Monty Grant Poetry.

 

2 Comments

  1. tashtoo said,

    May 21, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    Andy! This hurts…so bad! As a real estate agent, needless to say my income dipped a bit…not to mention we had a restaurant when all the fun really began. I did manage to get the house sold before it was taken…but working where I do…I SEE how terrible it is despite news of recovery. I see GOOD people on the verge, and topple over the edge everyday. I would switch careers all together if that was an option…but I don’t even have a tire factory nearby to sacrifice my arm to (loved Brian’s wicked weave too!) So … I’m thinking we need a slogan for our world wide change soldiers 😉 ..

  2. brian miller said,

    May 21, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    eeep…now were you the guy i watched get his arm ripped off…shivers….got to watch letting that creativity snatched away from you…we were trying to sell a house when it happened…and it never happened though i was already living in another state…eventually moved home but…i am in on the slogan as well tash


Leave a Reply

