My first poem about a country stile!

I shut my eyes, and lingered a while,
Detached from bodily form
To dwell upon the words that formed
A poem about a country stile.

The grain was gnarled and knot protruding,
Weathered old and standing proud
Like a lonely aged war torn soldier
A history witnessed and life concluding.

The brush swept land of gold and green
The emerald grass and hill of grain.
Across the land and ghostly page
This virgin tale of where I’d been.

Each step toward this friend of mine
The view his gift to me
Was painted on a page in words
And with the page did intertwine.

With opened eyes, I stopped a while,
And wished to see my country stile.
I wish for the gift of sight for me,
But darkness is all I see.

This is my first fictitious poem about a fictitious scene turned into a first fictitious poem by a fictitious blind man! I joke, but my sentiment is heartfelt and I do believe it is very sad that someone who is blind cannot see the beautiful sights I have seen in the countryside around us today. Poem written as the result of a prompt about ‘first times’ by dverse pots pub.

9 Comments

  1. 1emeraldcity said,

    September 16, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    Love this! The meter, the rhyme, and of course, the sentiment. To me this is quintessentially British…the stiles. I don’t think we have that here in US…barbed wire and fences more likely. Thank you for sharing this!

    • montygrant said,

      September 16, 2012 at 9:19 pm

      Thank you, as always Jacquie. I felt this kind of meter was designed for poems about the British countryside. We went over a few too many stiles today!!

  2. brian miller said,

    September 16, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    you know…i do know a few blind men that see better than many that have eyes…but to lose sight after having it…or any sense…that would def be brutal….

    • montygrant said,

      September 17, 2012 at 9:34 am

      It is something I fear, but i did try to get across the sentiment that the man does ‘see’ the beauty around him…

  3. kelly said,

    September 16, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    Well, you made me see it!

  4. claudia said,

    September 17, 2012 at 4:43 am

    i think the blind sometimes see more than we think they do…they have trained their other senses but having eyes to see is certainly something to be tremendously thankful for

    • montygrant said,

      September 17, 2012 at 9:35 am

      Indeed Claudia. Thanks for visiting, reading and commenting :))

  5. hobgoblin2011 said,

    September 17, 2012 at 9:52 am

    nicely done. Really creative take on the prompt. I like how you handled that. My cousin, who lost his sight in his twenties, due to the cancer that would eventually take his life in his mid-forties, told me once how the transition from seeing to blindness was incredibly difficult for him at first, but then, all of a sudden, perhaps after acceptance, he said his other senses, while never fully able to represent what sight could provide, helped him carve out images that, in a way, provided him the images that he missed. I paraphrased, but always remembered him saying that, and also how, from a conversation we had once, I mentioned that it must be more difficult to be able to see prior to losing that sight, which only seemed logical to me, but he said the opposite, that he really feels for those never able to experience what he had been blessed to experience for many years, that those images cannot be taken. Excellent piece, and thanks for reminding me of my cousin, and for sharing with us tonight. Thanks

    • montygrant said,

      September 18, 2012 at 7:53 pm

      Thanks for reading and for your touching comment. That is the amazing thing about poetry and the affect it can have, the emotional touch of the words and how they can trigger a memory or involve all the senses!
      we, with the gift of sight should perhaps try to involve our other senses- and as poets! thanks again. Always a pleasure to contribute.


Leave a Reply

